News,  Politics

Six Democrats Running in 2020 Voted ‘No’ On Providing Medical Care to Babies Surviving Abortion

This week, Senator Ben Sasse (R) introduced a bill titled “Born-Alive Abortion Survivors Protection Act,” which would require doctors to administer aid to infants who had survived an attempted abortion. It came in reaction to comments made by Virginia governor Ralph Northam, and other Democrat leaders, describing policies that sound a lot like infanticide.

He was wrong.All but three Democrats voted against the bill in the end.

The three Democrats who joined Republicans to support the bill were Joe Manchin (D-WV), Bob Casey (D-PA) and Doug Jones (D-AL).

Oddly, three Republicans did not vote, apparently because of “scheduling issues” and “flight delays” — including Kevin Cramer of North Dakota, Lisa Murkowski of Alaska and Tim Scott of South Carolina.

  • The bill would have threatened prison time for doctors who don’t try saving the life of infants born alive during failed abortions.
  • The Act would have required that “any health care practitioner present” at the time of a birth “exercise the same degree of professional skill, care, and diligence to preserve the life and health of the child as a reasonably diligent and conscientious health care practitioner would render to any other child born alive at the same gestational age.”
  • It exempted the mother involved in the birth from prosecution.
  • It also would’ve required practitioners to “ensure that the child born alive is immediately transported and admitted to a hospital.”
  • It prescribed a possible term of imprisonment of up to five years for violations, not including penalties for first-degree murder that could have applied in some states.

We don’t think that’s too much to ask. In fact, an eerily similar bill, called the Born-Alive Infants Protection Act, was passed unanimously by the Senate in 2002 and signed by President George W. Bush.

Democratic Presidential candidates Kamala Harris (CA), Cory Booker (NJ), Elizabeth Warren (MA), Amy Klobuchar (MN), Kirsten Gillibrand (NY), and Bernie Sanders (VT) all voted against the measure.

Your Thoughts

%d bloggers like this: